Jekyll and Hyde Weather

15 10 2009

It’s Friday-eve!  This week has absolutely FLOWN by!  I recall last week writing how excited I was that it was Friday and that really feels like it was, oh, 18 hours ago!

Wednesday started out with a pretty ho-hum leg workout.  I knew I’d be hiking (social-cizing) a few hours after the leg workout so I just wasn’t feeling like blasting my legs and then suffering through the hike. 

Weight Training (Legs, Light Shoulders):

  • TM Warmup 5 minutes
  • Ball Wall Squats 15 close feet, 15 middle feet, 15 wide feet
  • ValSlide Rear Lunge 3 sets of 15 reps each leg
  • Side Raise (shoulders) 4 sets of 15, 15, 10, 9
  • Explosive Lunges 2 sets of 20 reps
  • Overhead Shoulder Press 2 sets of 10 reps
  • Quick Bench Pushups 2 sets of 10 reps

Rather than lazy I’ll call it “efficient”.  🙂

Then it was time to fuel up for my hike.  I was in need of a 2nd cup of coffee for this one (have you guys tried the new Starbuck VIA instant coffee?  It’s fabulous!  While I’m a big fan of Starbucks lattes, I’m not a fan of their brewed java in-store.  But this VIA is really good!  It’ll be perfect for travelling and camping!)

With said VIA, I had two pieces of toasted Ezekial with raw almond butter and raw honey, with a side of 1/2 medjool date.  Dates are becoming my new favorite snack I think… oh so sweet! 

img 256

On the way to hiking I was bumming because I didn’t think I’d be able to see any pretty scenery, thanks to all this fog!

img 259

But the minute we crossed over the first ridge of the mountains, look at the blue sky that welcomed us!  Mister Hyde Weather please meet Jekyll!  Wahooo, sunshine and warmth!

img 260

There were a FEW aspen leaves left on the trees… most had already fallen.

img 268

I’m a happy girl when I’m hiking!

img 264

We planned on 6+ miles, but found that the online info of the trails was not as accurate as our GPS … according to our GPS we did 4.25 miles.  Regardless of the mileage, we had a BEAUTIFUL time!  I’m trying to savor any of these last few days that have any bit of warmth associated with them.  This weekend we are supposed to see 70 degrees again so I’m seriously doing the happy dance!

Speaking of mileage, I have to scoot out the door to meet up with a running buddy, so I’ll be back later to wrap up the recap of yesterday’s eats!

In the meantime, here’s a quick shot of my sprouting experiment.  I think I see a couple of baby sprouts!!! 

img 277

Have a great Thursday morning and I’ll see you all a bit later!

— Shari B. =)

Actions

Information

5 responses

15 10 2009
Cindy

OH I ADORE hiking…wish I had gorgeous woods nearby! ( we have a preserve near us but it’s more like grassy hills than mountains) but I love it there too.

LOOK at your baby sprouts ! yippee!

15 10 2009
Shari B. (FitFeat)

Hi Cindy! Yes, I feel very blessed to live in a state with so much to do outdoors! But your preserve sounds like a great place to take a break from being inside on the Mas maybe? 🙂 Sometimes I wish that in addition to all these great hills and mountains, we also had a lot more FLAT paths! Hills get tiring 😉 Have an AWESOME day! I’m behind on blog reading today, but will get over to yours SOON!

15 10 2009
Cindy

there’s pics of our last hike (sadly Mother’s Day) on my about page.

it’s hilly…but grassy hills, not trees…and I already called home to say
we need to go do a Sunday hike

HMMMM
great idear!

15 10 2009
Carrie

Shari,

I love dates too! One tip my ex-boyfriend gave to me is to put them in the freezer. Then, when you want one, pull out out and eat it. They’re still sweet and chewy, but someone, a million times better. Like candy! Anyway, try it!

15 10 2009
Shari B. (FitFeat)

Hi Carrie,

I’m gonna try that! Anything that tastes like candy but is good for me is a FRIEND of MINE!! 🙂 Plus they aren’t cheap, so that’d be a great way to store them and use them as I need them. I wouldn’t have figured I could freeze them! Thanks for the tip!

Leave a Reply

