Who You Callin’ a Prune?

10 10 2009

Hello FitFeat friends!

Well today I have to say I feel like a BONA FIDE runner.   “Why?”, you ask.  Because it was 17 degrees and snowing this morning, and I still went for an outside run!  And dragged poor MSP with me 😉  He’s really a saint, I tell you.  After a couple miles, we did decide that I was a little crazy and turned back.  But I felt fantastic when we got home … so refreshed and actually pretty darn toasty!  Nothing like a good run in the cold to get the internal fire stoked! 

Plus I get to go out in it later in the day. I’ll be meeting up with a girlfriend this afternoon for some SOCIAL-CIZING and we’ll be hitting up my fave trail (The Bluffs!)  They say we’ll be lucky to hit 32 degrees for the day’s high, so at least it will be TWICE as warm this afternoon as what it is now!  😉

In yesterday’s post, I left off after having hit up The Bluffs with another friend and then my umpteenth Starbucks visit of the week … allow me to rewind through my Friday:

Once home, I needed just a tiny bite to carry me through till lunch time.  I had a prune dried plum.  (I can no longer eat these without cracking up, thinking of Sarah over at the Fit Tip Exchange blog, who said this once: 

“…prunes are for old people…I eat dried plums..”

 So now I no longer eat prunes because I refuse to feel old – I too eat dried plums.  😉  Rascal on the other hand could care less what it’s called as long as there is a chance he’ll get a nibble…

img 183

When it was time for lunch, I munched on the last of the cold Pesto Gnocchi ‘salad’ while I was waiting for my actual meal to heat. 

img 184

Check out my veggie “enchilasagna”  (layered leftovers of the casserladas).  Yet another meal that tastes better the second day…

img 186

 And a few squares of dark chocolate for ‘dessert’:

img 188

Today’s midafternoon green smoothie was a bit of a departure from my normal recipe.  A few of the recurring characters:  cucumber, spinach and sprouts.  Then the guest stars:  pineapple, FROZEN banana, kiwi, pepitas and hemp oil.  I was low on fresh fruit so was pulling from pantry and freezer to round out this one.  

img 190

It was GREEN BLISS 🙂  mmmmm.  I will never tire of these I think.

img 193

I was still feeling the need for extra warmth when dinnertime rolled around, so I decided to get creative and make something along the lines of a heated salad.  I started out with an old recipe called “My Thai Chicken Wraps” from allrecipes.com that I used to use when I was still a meat-eater.  Then I did some tweaking to make separate versions: vegetarian and meaty.

First I mixed all the ingredients for the ‘sauce’ — minus the sugar.  Last time we used this recipe we thought it was plenty sweet with the hoisin sauce on its own, so no need for the extra sugar.

Then I divided the sauce into two pans.  One would be mixed with JUST the shredded rotisserie chicken (about 1/3 to 1/2 of the chicken) for MSP’s version.  I did not use the slaw veggies in his.   Heated his through then served on a whole wheat sandwich thin like kind of like a Thai BBQ Sammy.  I also roasted some quartered Yukon Gold potatoes for him to have “fries on the side.”

For my version I mixed the pre-cut ‘broccoli slaw’ with some chopped zucchini, chopped yellow pepper, scallions and mushrooms.  I sauteed all the veggies in coconut oil until soft, then added in the hoisin sauce mixture and simmered for probably another 10 minutes or so.  With SO many veggies diluting the sauce,  it ended up a little bland, so I mixed up a squeeze of agave nectar, a smear of organic peanut butter, low sodium soy sauce and a little thai curry paste for some spice.  That did the trick.

Behold my Warm Slaw Thai-Fry with Roasted Golden Beets:

img 198

(Toasted sesame seeds sprinkled on for garnish!)

It was GOOD!  And I even ate it with chopsticks!  So much better than take out and SOOO MUCH HEALTHIER!!

Which leads me to today’s discussion question: 
Do you have a favorite decadent dish (whether take-out or not) that you could tweak at home to make healthier?  If you’ve done so, how did it turn out? 

If you have one that you want to tweak but aren’t sure what might make it healthier, mention that too — I’ll be happy to offer suggestions if I have any and I’m sure the FitFeat readers will chime in with their ideas too!

On a side note… I’m aiming to get FitFeat moved over to a self-hosted site in the very near future (hopefully in the next week), so I want to start giving everyone a heads-up.  Currently if you go to www.fitfeat.com it will automatically route you to www.fitfeat.wordpress.com, which is where the blog is currently housed.  Once I go self-hosted, it should just be www.fitfeat.com.  So if for some reason you follow along via subscripion or via Google reader and DON’T see a daily post after the move, please come looking for me!  I’ll post a notice out here before I make the switch when the time comes. 

Have a SWELL SATURDAY my friends!  Thanks again for reading and for all of your great comments!

See you next time!

–Shari B. =)

 

Actions

Information

6 responses

10 10 2009
mariposagirl

MMM your dinner looks so yummy..(and your green smoothie too..I missed mine today)

fav dish? lately if I want a carb treat I make fried gnocchi..I sautee them in coconut oil or olive oil and let them get crunchy and add mushrooms and let them get crunchy…it’s so dang good

not the total healthiest but I’ve eaten worse!

I can’t believe you are getting snow! I already saw your yard pic and am in total shock! I should be knitting for YOU!

is this typical for CO?

I am so cal and it’s a breezy 60’s and low 70’s.
just 2 weeks ago we were triple digits though! so glad that is over!

Happy Saturday to ya
I’m sipping tea and catching up. I’ve been knitting the start of a new pair of socks today and we are just chilling!

11 10 2009
Shari B. (FitFeat)

Cindy, that fried gnocchi sounds FAB! I will have to try my gnocchi that way the next time. I like the health benefits of using coconut oil for frying… but then my food has a distinct coconut flavor… does that happen to you too? I wonder if there is some trick I’m unaware of 🙂

Colorado weather is very bizarre. Normally we have some snow and cold weather starting around Halloween. But it goes back and forth. This entire summer and fall has been a bit out of the norm for us. We had snow here in September while I was visiting my family. I’d been whining to MSP about how it was 50 w/ rain in the U.P. of Michigan, and he said, “well it’s 37 and snowing here!” Definitely unusual.

Some day I do think I’ll need to move someplace where it’s warm year round. I adore Colorado but I don’t like a LOT of cold. I moved out here 18 years ago after a Christmas visit where it was in the 60s and was able to play outside in T-shirts. I was sold. Now I’m hearing that we have ended a 25 year warm spell in CO and are entering a 25 year wet spell. (NOOOOOOOOO!!!!!) I want to live where I can grow mangoes and avocados in my backyyard. 🙂

10 10 2009
mariposagirl

OHHHH thanks for adding me to your blogroll! that is so cool!
(this is Cindy btw)

11 10 2009
Shari B. (FitFeat)

Hi Cindy, you are absolutely welcome! And the appreciation is likewise… thanks for the honor of allowing me on yours too! 🙂

13 10 2009
Save Our Soles! « FitFeat

[…] that I tried to make into something different.  I had some of Friday night’s “Warm Asian Thai-Fry” left, so I warmed it up, then wrapped it into red chard leaves.  The ‘dipping […]

16 07 2013
green smoke coupon

Hi there i am kavin, its my first time to commenting anyplace, when i read this article i thought i could also make comment due to this good paragraph.

Leave a Reply

