Lawn Mowing Made Fun? Believe It!

2 09 2009

Hey blog buds!

Wow it’s been a busy bee sort of day.   I am ready for some chill time, perhaps with my Kindle after I post. 🙂

Today’s FitFeature came to me while doing the weekly mowing. We used to pay a local company a small fee to come do a quick cut of our lawn once a week.  I took on that job myself beginning in May to save some money and the first few times I ran the weed whacker (which I guess is called a ‘trimmer’ – huh, who knew?) and the push mower, I was surprised at how much energy it seemed to take.  We don’t have a huge yard by any means – we live in the suburbs on a corner lot.  But the front and back yards do have a bit of a slope to them.  So after a few weeks of this, I decided to wear my heart rate monitor to determine how many calories I was burning and where my heart rate was.  I was burning about 300 calories in 40 minutes yardwork with a heart rate in the mid-150s! I’d call that worthy of ‘exercise’ status.  After that, I started thinking of my lawn day in terms of a cardio workout rather than a ‘chore’ which made it much more enjoyable for some reason.

Do you have any physical chores that you can turn into CARDIO? Drop me a comment!

My exercise for today consisted of weights, “wogging” the dogs, and the yard work.  Here’s the routine:

Weight Training (Hi-Rep Legs, Rear Delts)

  • TM warmup for 5 minutes followed by 3 sets of 20 rep ball squats for a muscle specific warmup.
  • DB Step-Ups 3 sets of 15 reps each leg
  • Rear Lunges on ValSlide holding KB 3 sets of 15 reps each leg
  • DB Rear Delt Flyes 3 sets of 15 reps
  • Hamstring Curls on Ball (single leg) 3 sets of 15 reps each leg
  • Wide Upright DB Rows 3 sets of 15 reps
  • Russian Twist on Ball 3 sets of 20 reps
  • Frog Legs on Ball 3 sets of 15 reps

Followed weights with the brief jaunt around the neighborhood with the dogs for light cardio (only 1.75 miles today).

Wednesday’s Eats:

You know it – COFFEE!  First thing everyday 🙂  I was hungry straight out of bed this morning so I also had a piece of Ezekial sprouted grain toast with raw almond butter and raw honey.   And yes, that is a Christmas mug from Starbucks.  It does get used year-round.

z 007

After my workout, it was time for my blended green yummers in a cup!  I must have subconsciously used more spinach today to make up for forgetting it yesterday, because it had a bit TOO much spinach flavor and tasted less like a green smoothie and more toward grass clippings.

z 008

Lunch was yet another use of my remaining Chipotle from Sunday.  This time instead of a bean bowl, I smeared a small corn tortilla with the Rosarita green chile & lime non-fat refried beans, sprinkled a bit of 2% cheddar, the remains of the veggie bowl from Chipotle and topped with leftover sauteed green pepper.   Voila!  A MexiPizza…

z 009

Afternoon snack was simple GORP, except minus the P and plus the A.  (For you non-hikers, GORP is “Good Ol’ Raisins and Peanuts”.  My “A” is soaked almonds.) 😉  Washed it down with a cup of herbal mango tea.

z 010

Neither of us could decide what we were hungry for tonight for dinner so we went the easy route and made eggs.  I made one into an opened faced sandwich with egg #2 on the side.  Ezekial toast, smear of Tofutti faux-cream cheese, tomato slices and sprinkled with nutritional yeast for a cheesy flavor. Easy peasy 5 minute meal.  I admit, it’s not the prettiest presentation of food.

z 012

My eyelids are drooping now, so I better scoot!  We’re headed toward Colorado Springs early in the morning to get our hike on!  Hope to have some fun pics to share!  Have a great night!

— Shari B. =)


Actions

Information

3 responses

3 09 2009
Joan

Hi Shari, Thanks so much for letting me know about your blog. I look forward to getting lots of ideas. We are similar in many ways I think. I’ve been mowing instead of paying to go to the gym forever. Digging in the dirt also gets my heart rate up. Thanks too for the plug for my blog. I’ll return the kindness as soon as I can figure out how to. Love your site! Joan

3 09 2009
Stephanie

Hi Shari,
Your blog rocks! I checked back this morning just to see what you were up to yesterday. You’ve even (almost) got me convinced to take over the lawn mowing!
Steph

3 09 2009
Shari B. (FitFeat)

Hey Steph! Thanks for the comments! Glad you are checking in! I think your yard would be more work than my yard!! 😉

Leave a comment